Our Previous Speakers

Asis Datta

He is an Indian biochemist, molecular biologist and genetic engineer, known for his researches on genetically modified foods and food nutritional security.
He is the founder Director of the National Institute of Plant Genome Research and is credited with the discovery of genes that assist in extended preservation of fruits and vegetables.
He is a recipient of the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award, the highest Indian award and in the Science category, and was awarded the fourth highest civilian award of the Padma Shri, by the Government of India, in 1999.
In 2008, he was included again in the Republic Day Honours list for the third highest civilian honour of the Padma Bhushan.

Christopher Soghoian

He is a privacy researcher and activist. He is currently working for Senator Ron Wyden as a Tech Congress Fellow. From 2012 to 2016, he was the principal technologist at the American Civil Liberties Union Soghoian, who holds British and US nationality, received a B.S. from James Madison University (Computer Science; 2002), a Masters from Johns Hopkins University (Security Informatics; 2005), and a PhD from Indiana University (Informatics; 2012).
Soghoian is a Visiting Fellow at Yale Law School's Information Society Project and a TED Senior Fellow. He was previously an Open Society Foundations Fellow and a Student Fellow at the Berkman Center for Internet & Society at Harvard University.

C. N. R Rao

He is an Indian chemist who has worked mainly in solid-state and structural chemistry. He currently serves as the Head of the Scientific Advisory Council to the Prime Minister of India. Rao has honorary doctorates from 60 universities from around the world. He has authored around 1,500 research papers and 45 scientific books. On 16 November 2013, the Government of India announced his selection for Bharat Ratna, the highest civilian award in India, making him the third scientist after C.V. Raman and A. P. J. Abdul Kalam to receive the award. He was conferred the award on 4 February 2014 by President Pranab Mukherjee in a special ceremony in the Durbar Hall of the Rashtrapati Bhavan

Deepa Malik

She is the first Indian woman to win a medal in Paralympic Games and won a Silver medal at the 2016 Summer Paralympics in the shot put.She is associated with Himalayan Motorsports Association (H.M.A.) and Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India (F.M.S.C.I.). She has undertaken an 8-day, 1700-km drive in sub-zero temperatures which included a climb to 18000 feet. It was – Raid De Himalaya. This journey covers many difficult paths including remote Himalayas, Leh, Shimla and Jammu. Deepa Malik is the first Indian woman to win a Medal at the Paralympics. She won silver medal in the shot put at 2016 Paralympic Games.She was previously honored with the Arjuna award in 2012, at the age of 42 yrs.She has also been conferred the prestigious Padma Shri award in 2017.

Lobsang Sangay

He is a Tibetan legal scholar and politician. He has been chief executive of the Tibetan Government-in-Exile since 8 August 2011. Following the election, at the request of the 14th Dalai Lama, the Tibetan parliament-in-exile amended the organisation's bylaws to remove the Dalai Lama's role as ceremonial head of state, making Lobsang Sangay its highest leader.
Lobsang Sangay's title as chief executive was changed from kalön tripa ("prime minister") to sikyong ("ruler" or "regent").

Dabbala Rajagopal "Raj" Reddy

He is an Indian-American computer scientist and a winner of the Turing Award. He is one of the early pioneers of Artificial Intelligence and has served on the faculty of Stanford and Carnegie Mellon University for over 40 years.
He was the founding director of the Robotics Institute at Carnegie Mellon University.
He is also the chairman of International Institute of Information Technology, Hyderabad. He is the first person of Asian origin to receive the ACM Turing Award, in 1994, the highest award in Computer Science, for his work in the field of Artificial Intelligence.

Ravi Venkatesan

He is the Chairman of the Board at Bank of Baroda. He is also the founder Chairman of Social Venture Partners India, a partner at Unitus Seed Fund and a fund advisor at Kalaari Capital. Ravi serves on the boards of Rockefeller Foundation, Infosys Ltd., and several advisory boards. He is the author of an acclaimed book 'Conquering the Chaos: Win in India, Win Everywhere' published by Harvard Business Review.

Sujatha Ramdorai

She is a professor of mathematics and Canada Research Chair at University of British Columbia, Canada. Ramdorai is an algebraic number theorist known for her work on Iwasawa theory. She is the first Indian to win the prestigious ICTP Ramanujan Prize in 2006 and also a winner of the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award, the highest honour in scientific fields by Indian Government in 2004. She was a member of the National Knowledge Commission from 2007 to 2009. She is at present a member of the Prime Minister’s Scientific Advisory Council from 2009 onwards and also a member of the National Innovation Council. She is also on the advisory board of Gonit Sora. She holds an adjunct professorship position at Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Pune